Imani

The seventh and final principle of Kwanzaa is imani, which means faith. It can mean faith in others, but more than that, it means to have faith in yourself. I believe that you should have faith in yourself no matter what, and this year, I had to have a lot of it.

This year was my first year playing team sports since the second grade. Back then, I played soccer, and now I play volleyball. It can be really nerve-racking before a game because I’d always worry that something would go wrong, and I’d screw up.

In order to combat that, I had to have a lot of faith in myself. Faith that we’d win, faith that I would do my best, and faith in the team, especially. I even had to have faith in the refs, even though (and I mean this nicely) some of them don’t know what the heck they’re doing. But that’s a rant for later.

Anyway, this hasn’t happened yet, but I’m going to need to have faith in myself for the performing arts school audition. At the moment I do, but let’s just see how I feel five minutes before the assesment.  But I’ve still got time for that.

Everyone, I hope that you have a lovely 2017, and remember to always have faith in yourself and others.

 

Leave a Reply

