Here’s What I Think About Mockingjay

I saw The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part Two yesterday. I was somewhat wary, after hearing all of the bad reviews.  I have to say, it deserved some of them. I’m going to give it 3 out of 5 stars.

I read the book, and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I loved Mockingjay, or as I called it, “The installment where everyone dies.”

I’m not wrong, am I?

Back to the movie. The reason I’m only giving the movie three stars is because, despite being a brutal movie, it just wasn’t very exciting.

I was only on my toes for one part of the movie, and that’s because I knew that one of my favorite characters was about to die. (It, was, however, right before another character’s death–a death I had forgotten.) That was the only part where my heart was threatening to beat out of my chest.

Also, Liam Hemsworth. We need to discuss. At first I thought that it was ridiculous that a review said that his performance was terrible.

That review (read it here: http://www.vox.com/culture/2015/11/20/9768210/hunger-games-mockingjay-part-2-review-final-movie) shocked me at first. But now that I’ve seen the movie, I think that the blame should go to Gale, not Liam. In the movie, I hated Gale as a character, but not Liam as an actor.

Another criticism I have is that I feel like it rushed through the book (it was the second shortest Hunger Games movie). Squad 451 stayed with Tigress for much longer than they did in the film.

It had also been way too long since I had seen Part One, or reread the book, so some of the criticisms I had been unwarranted since they had been in the first movie. I won’t mention those.

My favorite part of the movie was the ending. Not because it was over, but because I loved Katniss’ words.

All in all, I think it was a decent ending. Could’ve been better. But we’ll live.

Leave a Reply

