Mean Girls

“Why should Caesar just get to stomp around like a giant while the rest of us try not to get smushed under his big feet? Brutus is just as cute as Caesar, right? Brutus is just as smart as Caesar, people totally like Brutus just as much as they like Caesar, and when did it become okay for one person to be the boss of everybody because that’s not what Rome is about! We should totally just STAB CAESAR!”–Lacey Chabert, Mean Girls 

Sadly, guys, this isn’t about the movie. I know, I know. It’s upsetting, but you’ll live. I promise.

What I’d like to talk about today are mean girls in life. Well, a mean girl. Her name is Tricia*, and she doesn’t bully with insults and other things. She’s super passive aggressive about it.

“Dear Savannah and Taylor,

What you keep doing to Tricia is extremely wrong. Why you would do anything like that, I don’t know. There is no excuse. If she was really your friend before you would not do that to her. She didn’t know that she was hurting you. And it’s not right to hurt her.”–a girl in my homeroom (let’s call her Ashley), one hour ago

Here’s a refresher course from my earlier post Best Friends Forever? Tricia started ignoring me and Savannah. We didn’t know why until a week later. She told us her mom took her phone, so she couldn’t talk to us.

This is what I said to Tricia:

“Dear Tricia,

Ignore that first message. [I had accidentally pressed send after typing her name.] Anyway, I am writing to let you know that I don’t hate you, but I don’t think that we should be friends. I’m sorry.”

If you’re wondering why I didn’t forgive her, since she was only ignoring us because she didn’t have her phone, here’s why.

Tricia told me and Savannah that the reason she never talked to us was because her mom took her phone. However, Tricia, Savannah, and I go to an extremely tiny middle school. There are 23 of us in the seventh grade. Savannah has ALL OF HER CLASSES with Tricia. I only have two classes without Tricia, but I sit next to her in all of our shared classes, except for English. (And science, now that our seats have finally been changed. Thank goodness.) Plus the three of us ride the same bus.

She had every opportunity to talk to us, but she didn’t. Ashley said that Savannah and I have no excuse for what we are doing. If that’s the case, she doesn’t get to put Tricia on the same pedestal: Tricia can’t say she ignored us because she didn’t have her phone if we can’t say we’re not friends with her because she’s evil.

I thought that all of this drama had died down. Everyone still sits with Tricia at lunch, leaving Savannah and I to sit with our squad comprised of imaginary friends. I’m not even kidding about that, by the way. Everyone sides with Tricia (except for our guy friend, because he’s a platonic bae.) so we made up imaginary friends to replace our real squad.

Clearly Savannah and I have better taste in friends. Plus, if we had an issue with someone, we’d say it to their faces. We’re not so cowardly that we have our lapdogs stand up for us.

Mainly because we have none, but still. I wish people would realize that Tricia’s not a martyr. I wish they’d take her off of the pedestal they have her on.

Most importantly, I wish that people would realize that her side of the story isn’t the only side of the  story. Savannah and I were hurt, too. Don’t we have the right to say what we think?

*She was called Sidney in the post Best Friends Forever. I chose to use her real first name because I’m sick of her trying to hide behind everything (aka her lapdogs). But fake names applied, so now you know.

Leave a Reply

