Best Friends Forever?

Do you remember the day you met your best friend? I remember the day I met my best friend in the entire world, Serena*, who’s like my sister. I was in kindergarten, and she bounded right up to me and said, “Hi, I’m Serena van der Woodsen! What’s your name?”

We’ve been besties ever since.

I also remember the day I officially became besties with my current bestie, Ciel Phantomhive. Ciel, our friend Aria Montgomery, and I were trying out for the school musical, and Ciel and I partnered for the acting part. I don’t even remember why, but we just clicked.

We’ve also been besties ever since.

I also remember the days I met my friends Aria, Emily, and Hanna. Aria and I partnered up one day for a math worksheet, and I met Emily and Hanna because of Aria.

We’ve all been besties ever since.

I met Bella Swan in the first grade. She was really quiet, and I wouldn’t have been friends with her, but we were in Girl Scouts together. I don’t remember how we became friends, but we did. And we remained close until 2013, when I relocated to my current state.

We haven’t spoken in months.

And I met Sidney Prescott about two months ago. Sidney, Ciel, and I were all going to a new school together. I officially met Sidney the night of orientation, and we really hit it off. I thought this would be a great year, especially with Sidney and Ciel.

I was totally wrong.

Last week, Ciel and I noticed that Sidney was being pretty rude to us. Ciel called her out on it, and Sidney apologized. She said we were best friends forever. I thought that would be the end of it, that we’d all be best friends on Monday.

Once again, I was totally wrong. Wait. Why am I blaming this on me? Sidney gave me the impression that we’d all be friends.

At school this week, Sidney has pretty much completely ignored Ciel and me. On Tuesday, she didn’t sit with us in the morning and afternoon. (On Friday, we asked her to sit with us. She acted like it was a chore, and left after five minutes.) She didn’t even sit with us at lunch. (I will say that Savannah and I left the lunch table one day because our squad formation got broken up, but our whole squad left the table. Sidney knew that; it was made clear. She might be mad about that, but I’d rather have her come out and just say it than act like a Plastic.)

Naturally, Ciel and I spent all of our lunch period dissing her. She had complained that we’re ignoring her (but we’re really not) and a bunch of other stuff I’d rather not repeat. All lies, but still.

Today was even worse. Sidney and I sit next to each other in math, and she literally threw her books down on the desk. I am not even kidding, guys. And she didn’t acknowledge me or Ciel on the bus this morning, or at lunch. In fact, the only time she talked to me was when she needed my help on something.

I know it may not seem like it, but I do have a point to this. My point is, some friendships just might be forever. Others fall apart, even if you don’t want them to.

It sucks, and I know that. Have you ever lost a friendship? Have you ever

*Names have been changed to names of fictional characters. Brownie points to anyone who can tell me what shows/movies/books they’re from. Good luck.

2 thoughts on “Best Friends Forever?

  1. OOO I WANT BROWNIE POINTS!!! So I don’t know a couple names but I know that some are from PLL and one is from Twilight. I’m soooo sorry T, I wish I could be there with you! Math isn’t the same without you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

